New books coming soon

Jessie Burton
The Muse, second novel by The Miniaturist author Jessie Burton [below], will be published in the UK in July 2016 by Picador. In the US it will be published by HarperEcco; in Canada by HarperCollins; and in Sweden by Modernista.jessie burton 29-6-14Moving between 1930s Spain and 1960s London, The Muse tells of a young Caribbean immigrant, a bohemian artist and the mysterious painting that connects the two across the decades.

For more about Jessie Burton, click here for her website.

Aoife Clifford
All These Perfect Strangers by Australian author Aoife Clifford [below] will be published in the UK [June 2016], Commonwealth, Australia [March 2016] and New Zealand by Simon & Schuster.



Pen Sheppard’s life is blighted by scandal and tragedy until university gives her the chance to start again and leave the past behind. Except the past can never be forgotten. This is Clifford’s debut novel although she has won two Australian short story crime writing prizes: the Ned Kelly – SD Harvey Short Story Award, and the Scarlet Stiletto. She was also shortlisted for the UK Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger.

Anna Mazzola
The debut novel by criminal justice solicitor Anna Mazzola [below], The Unseeing, will be published in the UK by Tinder Press in summer 2016. Set in 1830s London, it is based on the real case of Sarah Gale, a seamstress and mother sentenced to hang for her alleged role in a murder. anna mazzola 7-10-15The Unseeing has already won awards, including the Brixton Bookjam Debut Novel competition. Mazzola was runner-up in the 2014 Grazia magazine First Chapter competition, judged by Sarah Waters.

James Oswald
Two new books in the Inspector McLean series by crime writer James Oswald are scheduled for publication in the UK and Commonwealth [exc Canada] by Michael Joseph in February 2017 and 2018. Natural Causes, the first Inspector McLean book, was published by Penguin in 2013, there are five books in the series so far. natural causes by james oswald 7-10-15For more about James Oswald, his Inspector McLean series and his epic fantasy series The Ballad of Sir Benfro, click here for his website.
Read this interview in The Telegraph about Oswald’s transition from farmer to crime writer.

Agnes Ravatn
Literary thriller The Bird Tribunal, by Norwegian author Agnes Ravatn, will be published in English for the first time by Orenda Books in spring 2016. The Bird Tribunal is a tense thriller and a descriptive account of a developing relationship between a man and a woman in an isolated country house. It has already been turned into a theatre production in Norway.

Ruth Hogan
UK publisher Two Roads is to publish The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan after an auction for the rights. The Keeper of Lost Things is about retired writer Anthony Peardew, who 40 years previously lost a precious keepsake his fiancée had given him, so breaking the only promise she ever asked him to keep. After Therese’s death in an accident. Anthony seeks atonement. He rescues the things that other people lose, and writes stories about them.

Learn more about The Keeper of Lost Things at Ruth Hogan’s Instagram project, here.