New books coming soon

At the Edge of a Wood by Australian author DOMINIC SMITH will be published in the UK, Commonwealth and Australia/New Zealand by Allen & Unwin in 2016. There are three timelines – 17th century Holland, 1950s Manhattan and Sydney in 2000 – for this story of art, forgery and deception.



For more about Dominic Smith, click here for his website.


The six wives of Henry VIII will feature in turn in the six new novels by bestselling historian ALISON WEIR, to be published in the UK and Commonwealth by Headline. As always, Weir’s novels will be based on her extensive historical research, with new theories promised which will put the six wives into the context of their own age. The first novel will be published in 2016.



To visit Alison Weir’s website, click here.


C L TAYLOR, author of The Accident, will published three more novels with Avon. Her next novel, Last Girl Standing, will be published in April this year.

last girl standing by CL Taylor 6-1-15To read my review of The Accident, click here.

Note: The title of the book has since changed to The Lie.


Black Wood, the psychological thriller by debut author S J I HOLLIDAY, will be published by Black & White in spring 2015. Banktoun is a fictional small town south of Edinburgh, a quiet place full of gossip and rumours, where terrible deeds are swept under the carpet. What happened all those years ago in the woods? This is described as a tale of past secrets and broken friendship. Further novels set in Banktoun are promised.

black wood by SJI HOlliday 6-1-14To read SJI Holliday’s blog, click here.


In June 2015, Bloomsbury will publish The Sunlit Night by 26-year old New York writer REBECCA DINERSTEIN. the sunlit night by revecca dinerstein 6-1-15Dinerstein won the Frederick Mortimer Clapp Fellowship after graduating from Yale, which allowed her to travel anywhere in the world to write. She went to Lofoten, an archipelago in the Norwegian sea, where part of The Sunlit Night is set. It tells the story of Frances, who leaves New York for a Norwegian artist colony, and Russian immigrant Yasha who is attempting to carry out her father’s last wish to be buried at the top of the world.


Whitewater Church, the first book in a new crime series by ANDREA CARTER, will be published in autumn 2015 by Constable and Robinson.



The deal included a second unnamed book. Whitewater Church is set in the remote Inishowen Peninsula in Ireland, where local solicitor Benedicta O’Keeffe is drawn into the dark secrets of the local community. Dublin-based Carter is a barrister, she previously worked in Inishowen as a solicitor. The book won 2013 Irish Writers Centre Novel Fair and Carter received an Arts Council of Ireland Literature Bursary Award.

For Andrea Carter’s blog, click here.