New books coming soon

Lisa Jackson
Deserve to Die, the new novel in the Alvarez/Pescoli suspense series by American author Lisa Jackson [below], will be published in August 2014 by Mulholland, an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton. Jackson is a bestselling author in the US and H&S says there is a huge appetite for this type of thrilling suspense with a romantic edge, made popular by Karen Rose and Karin Slaughter. Standalone thriller Close to Home, a standalone thriller, will be released in hardback in September 2014.

Click here for Lisa Jackson’s website.

[photo: Kimberly Butler]

[photo: Kimberly Butler]

Eve Makis
The Spice Box Letters is the new novel from Eve Makis, to be published by Sandstone Press in 2015. It tells the story of a young woman’s search for her family origins through the written memories of her Armenian grandmother. The publication date is timed to mark the centenary year of the Armenian genocide in 1915. eat drink and be married by Eve Makis 3-6-14Makis’ first novel, Eat, Drink and Be Married, originally published by Black Swan [above], is to be re-issued by Sandstone as an e-book in 2015.

Visit Eve Makis’ website here.

Hilary Mantel
The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher is a new collection of contemporary short stories by Hilary Mantel, to be published by 4th Estate on September 4. The first two novels in Mantel’s Tudor trilogy – Wolf Hall and Bring up the Bodies – have been adapted for the stage and are currently being performed at the Royal Shakespeare Company, Stratford, England.

Click here to read an article in The Daily Telegraph about Mantel’s new anthology.
Visit Hilary Mantel’s Facebook page here.

Janina Matthewson
Of Things Gone Astray by debut novelist Janina Matthewson is to be published in the UK by The Friday Project. This is the experimental imprint by HarperCollins which is exploring new ways of acquiring, publishing, selling and promoting books, a strong focus is placed on digital books. New Zealander Matthewson [below] was born in Christhurch but moved to London after the earthquake, an event which is key to her novel. A trained actress, she has also written for the stage and screen. Her first play, Human and If, was performed at The Tea House Theatre in London. Of Things Gone Astray will be published in paperback in August 2014. Janina Matthewson 4-6-14Click here for Janina Matthewson’s website.
For more about The Friday Project, click here.

Hannah Richell
Hannah Richell, author of Richard and Judy Book Club selection Secrets of the Tides, has sold two new novels to Orion. The first new novel will be published in 2015. Orion also publishes Richell’s The Shadow Year [below]. Richell was born in the UK but now lives in Australia. the shadow year by hannah richell 4-6-14Read Hannah Richell’s blog, here.
Click here to watch a Richard and Judy interview with Hannah Richell.

Gillian Anderson & Jeff Rovin
The EarthEnd Saga series will be published in the UK in October by Simon & Schuster UK. The series is co-written by actress Gillian Anderson and Jeff Rovin. The first, A Vision of Fire, is about a Caitlin O’Hara, a psychiatrist who treats children traumatised by war or natural disasters.

In an interview with Entertainment Weekly, Anderson said: “I enjoy writing, but don’t usually allow myself the time, and I don’t think I’d ever think to write something in this genre without the prodding of someone like Jeff. But I realized I had ideas hidden within me for a series and a lead character, in this case, a heroine.”

To visit Gillian Anderson’s blog, click here, to read her news about movies plus the EarthEnd Saga.